Southland Community Environment Award Winners Announced

Southland’s environmental champions have been recognised at the 22nd Southland Community Environment Awards in Invercargill recently.

There were 32 nominees representing environmental action being undertaken in all corners of the region, by people from all walks of life.

Among those recognised by the awards were Southland disAbility Enterprises – it was awarded the prize for Environmental Leadership in Business this year. With over 100 employees, Southern disAbility Enterprises provides a service to the community that goes far beyond its mission to enrich the lives of people with disabilities. The business is making big inroads in the recycling of baleage wrap and agricultural plastics. They are currently processing around 500 tonnes of baleage wrap a year, they are keen to build this to 1000 tonnes.

Results and nominees by category

Environmental action in the community

(Sponsored by NZAS)

  • Bluff Hill/ Motupohue Environment Trust - Winner
  • Heddon Bush School Commended
  • Winton Community Gardens Commended

Environmental action in education

(Sponsored by Milligans Seeds and the Department of Conservation)

  • Kindergartens South - Winner
  • Glenham School Commended
  • Jellicoe Sea Scouts
  • Three Makarewa Bees

Environmental leadership in farming and land management

(Sponsored by Wynn Williams)

  • Matt McKenzie - Winner
  • Colin and Debbie Hitchcock
  • Graeme & Jan Appleby

Individual environmental leadership or action

(Sponsored by AON Insurance Brokers)

  • Phil Newbury - Winner
  • Brent McGearty
  • Hamish McMurdo
  • Janet Gregory
  • Robin Pagan
  • Ruth Dalley

Environmental innovation

(Sponsored by the Invercargill Licensing Trust)

  • RDM Services Ltd - Winner
  • Bio Active Soils Commended
  • Koha Kai Charitable Trust Commended
  • Les Gibbs
  • Dairy Green, NIWA and Venture Southland (Glenarlea Farm)

Environmental leadership in business

(Sponsored by ANZ bank)

  • Southland disAbility Enterprises - Winner
  • Awarua Synergy
  • Fiordland Lobster Company
  • Invercargill Brewery

Environmental achievement

(Sponsored by Real Journeys)

  • Invercargill City Council Parks and Reserves team - Winner
  • Invercargill Prison Commended
  • Awarua Synergy
  • Wood Energy South (Venture Southland)

Councillors' Special Award

(Sponsored by Environment Southland Councillors)

  • Graeme and Jan Appleby - Winner

Abridged, taken from an article on Scoop Independent News